Announcing the 2017 Maryland Cybersecurity Award Winners

Home » Press Releases » Announcing the 2017 Maryland Cybersecurity Award Winners


250 attend inaugural awards celebration

On Wednesday, March 22nd, the nonprofit Cybersecurity Association of Maryland, Inc. (CAMI), in partnership with PNC Bank and Point3 Security, hosted the inaugural Maryland Cybersecurity Awards Celebration. Before a sold-out crowd of 250 attendees at the American Visionary Art Museum in Baltimore, 13 awards were presented to Maryland companies, organizations and individuals judged to have outstanding cybersecurity products, services and/or programs or to have made a substantial contribution to Maryland’s cybersecurity industry.

CAMI enlisted the participation of Digital Harbor Foundation students in designing the awards presented to the winners. Under the direction of Mary Reisenwitz, Digital Harbor Foundation’s Mid-High Program Coordinator, students submitted their award design concepts to CAMI for consideration. The three designs selected were the vision of two 13 and 15 year old sisters, Aiyanah and N’Dera Muhammad, both of whom attended the Awards Celebration to help present the awards manufactured by Digital Harbor Foundation from the students’ designs.

Following opening remarks from CAMI’s Executive Director Stacey Smith, Secretary Mike Gill, Maryland Department of Commerce, highlighted Maryland’s cybersecurity strengths and expressed his confidence in Maryland’s continued leadership in the global cybersecurity realm. The evening’s program was co-emceed by Evan Dornbush, Co-Founder & CEO of Point3 Security, and Jay Turakhia, Vice President, Commercial Relationship Manager, Greater Maryland Market for PNC Bank, and included remarks and award announcements from the following:

  • Michael Willetts, Senior Vice President, Maryland Commercial Banking Market Leader, PNC Bank
  • Mary Burkholder, Senior Vice President, Anne Arundel Economic Development Corporation
  • Sarah Miller, Director of Strategic Initiatives, Montgomery County Economic Development Corporation
  • Donald Fry, CEO & President, Greater Baltimore Committee
  • Will Anderson, Director, Baltimore County Department of Economic & Workforce Development
  • Patrick Wynn, Vice President, Cyber Business Development, Howard County Economic Development Authority
  • Jan Gardner, County Executive, Frederick County
  • Spencer Wilcox, Director of Security Strategy, Risk and Assurance, Exelon Corporation
  • Michael Ryan, CEO, South River Technologies
  • Britta Vander Linden, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of Governor Larry Hogan
  • Gina Abate, CEO, Edwards Performance Solutions
  • Angie Barnett, President & CEO, Better Business Bureau, Greater Maryland
  • Chip Lewis, Managing Director, PSA Insurance & Financial Services
  • Ron and Cyndi Gula, Co-Founders, Gula Tech Adventures

And the 2017 Maryland Cybersecurity Awards Celebration winners are:

Posted on
Skip to toolbar